Hygric Extension properties

Everything concerning the adequate application of WUFI in Ireland & UK depending on local conditions e.g. architecture, building codes, standardization, laws et cetera.
Tomás
WUFI User
WUFI User

Hygric Extension properties

Post by Tomás » Mon Apr 02, 2012 1:01 am -1100

Hi all,

Im a student investigating hygrothermal performance of a hydrophilic mineral wool insulation when retrofitting existing buildings with internal insulation. With the wall buildups I have, there are a few materials that are not present in the Wufi Material database and therefore I need to create new ones. I have obtained all the basic data properties required but I am wondering how do I get the hygric extensions. It was my understanding that Wufi calculates these on the basis of the basic properties but this hasn't happened. I know simulations can be done without these properties but giving that the the mineral wool insulation is hydrophilic, I thought additional data would be needed.

Any advice you may have would be greatly appreciated,
Kind Regards,
Tomás O'Hanlon

Thomas
WUFI Administrator
WUFI Administrator

Re: Hygric Extension properties

Post by Thomas » Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:12 pm -1100

Tomás wrote:I have obtained all the basic data properties required but I am wondering how do I get the hygric extensions. It was my understanding that Wufi calculates these on the basis of the basic properties but this hasn't happened. I know simulations can be done without these properties but giving that the the mineral wool insulation is hydrophilic, I thought additional data would be needed.
Hi Tomás,
in general, the hygric extension properties can not be determined from given basic properties.